Seventeen Students Awarded the Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra Scholarships

Seventeen students have been awarded the 2024 Irrigation Association Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra Scholarships. This scholarship program, which is sponsored by Rain Bird and hosted by the Irrigation Association (IA), pays tribute to the late president of Rain Bird, Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra, who passed away in 2021.

The 17 recipients are:

  • Ashley Beazer – Brigham Young University, Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra Scholar
  • Anna Davis – North Carolina State University, Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra Scholar
  • Mia Apps – University of Idaho
  • Joseph Daniels – Brigham Young University
  • Gabrielle Fernandez – Cuyahoga Community College
  • Baylee Gagnier – Three Rivers Ct State Community College
  • Siena Giddens – Saddleback College
  • Nathan Hawks – Michigan State University
  • Lauren Kasel – Texas A&M University
  • Bailey Kuhn – University of Wisconsin River Falls
  • Tyler Langer – College of Southern Idaho
  • Angel Lopez – California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo
  • Katie Marra – Rutgers New Brunswick
  • Luis Mazariegos – College of Dupage
  • Jake Miller – The Ohio State University
  • Anthony Scarpitti – Oklahoma State University
  • Breanna Selsor – Iowa State University

“These outstanding students exemplify Rain Bird’s core value of personal development and growth through education," says Michael Roberts, vice president for technology and innovation. "All demonstrate strong commitment to responsible irrigation practices, and they represent the future of our industry. Rain Bird is proud to support them as they continue to advance in their academic careers.”

The recipients were chosen for their strong commitment to promoting sustainability and conserving water, as well as for their intellect of how irrigated landscapes and agricultural practices can enhance overall quality of life. The top two recipients are recognized as Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra Scholars.

Search Careers

Connect With Us